Ambulances should not be shot

As we were standing there with this Health Care in Danger Red Cross campaign, a girl around my age walked up to me. She said, with tears in her eyes: ”I’m Ukraine. Fire…”. She looked at the ambulance silently, and then she left.

Several others have approached us to tell us about the situation in their home countries, the countries that many of them have fled from. You don’t often see an ambulance like this in Sweden, but healthcare workers and facilities have become targets in too many places.

This ambulance reminds me of so many things: the importance of International Humanitarian Law and the Red Cross, Crescent and Crystal as emblems of protection; the brave people helping others and saving lives even in these dangerous environments; the people that come here looking for protection (you ought to understand them); not the least the importance of treating everyone equally and without discrimination – which is why healthcare personnel should be protected in the first place. Because we are all born free and equal.

I wouldn’t want this to happen to me. I wouldn’t want this to happen to any of my future colleagues around the world. I wouldn’t want this to happen to any human being.

‪#‎ProtectHealthCare‬

IMG_0264.JPG

Kommentera

