Turkish, useful Turkish

Another medical student friend – actually already doctor – came today, yay again! We went to the Hummus project, of course. The line was fine, I think. At some point, the girl who showed me her tent yesterday, lets call her E, said something, and I looked at her. “Turkey” she said, and all of a sudden we realized that both of us speak Turkish – one week after we first met. That’s happiness. Her Turkish is better than mine, but we can communicate quite alright. Many of the kids, and some adults too, could speak Turkish it turned out, and all of a sudden I was talking to quite a number of people. Cool. E said that she would come with us on our walk, and we set off for the family with the six daughters.

I gave them the phone, they inserted the sim-card and we all watched while holding our breath. It worked fine. “How much?” they asked, and I shrugged. After much insisting, I admitted – 19€. The father took out money from the purse, while I kept on saying “La!” – no.  They wouldn’t listen. Hediye, gift,  I said, and they eventually said okay. We were given tea and coke, and E translated between Turkish and Arabic while I translated between Turkish and Swedish or English for our non-Turkish non-Arabic speaking friend. Quite funny, but still worked well. We danced dabke again – ”Come, we dance everyday!” said one of the sisters; I’m not sure if she meant that they do, or if they wanted us to do it. When we eventually gave up after many circles in the big but still not so big tent, the small girls ran out and brought us wet towels to put on our shoulders. Brr. Then we were fed peanuts and oranges, and more tea.

Eventually, we had to leave. Ahlan w sahlan! Come here every day,” they said. We went on to the family who had invited me for lunch before, I wanted to give them some milk for the youngest kids. No one was there, and a lady sitting on the train told us that they had left for another camp. I hope they’ll beIMG_87521.jpg alright. We had some falafel on the way – another of these local businesses that skilled refugees have set up at the camp, and said hi to the dentists in the container. I will write more about them later. Eventually, we turned back to E’s tent. She’s in general not allowed to walk alone in the camp; the parents don’t feel safe with the tension and the crowd.

I have the nightshift at the warehouse; I found a mattress – like soft one – to sleep on right by the door! I hope I won’t sleep to well.

Good night!

Jess

Kommentera

